Search Search

Country Sanctions and Embargoes

The Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) implements U.S. Government sanctions against Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Sudan, and Syria pursuant to the Export Administration Regulations (EAR), either unilaterally or to implement United Nations Security Council Resolutions.

The license requirements, license exceptions, and licensing policy vary depending upon the particular sanctioned destination.

Also, other U.S. Government agencies administer regulations that could also impact export or reexport transactions. For example, the Department of the Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) also implements certain sanctions against Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Sudan, and Syria. Exporters and reexporters are responsible for complying with all applicable regulatory requirements.

Department of Commerce: Embargoed Countries

Department of Commerce: Country Groups

US State Dept: DDTC Country Policies and Embargoes

OFAC Country Sanctions

Department of State: ITAR 126.1 Countries

Recent regulatory changes within the last 12 months:

 Restricted Party Screening Tool
(Obtain password & user ID by emailing